What does “per se intoxication” mean?
In Texas, the term “per se intoxication” means that if the chemical test results exceed Texas’s legal limit of .08%, you can be convicted of DWI with no other proof required. Contact an attorney in Brownsville regardless of your test results as the consequences for DWI convictions can be severe.

What does “zero tolerance” mean?
If you are under age 21 and drive a vehicle in Texas, you are prohibited from driving with a blood alcohol level of .00% or above.

Will I lose my Texas driver’s license for a DWI offense?
If you are convicted of DWI, yes, your driver’s license will be suspended. Depending on your age, blood alcohol level, and whether or not this was your first DWI offense, you license will be suspended for 90 days (first offense), 180 days (second or third offense), or a full year (underage DWI). In addition, if this is your third offense, your car may be impounded.

I’m being hit with an “enhanced” DWI penalty. What is that? Do I need an attorney?
Virtually all DWI cases need attorneys, including those with “enhanced” penalties. This type of penalty is imposed when your blood alcohol level exceeds .15% which is nearly twice the legal limit of .08%. Expect additional fines and longer jail time. An experienced attorney can help you plead your case.

Why do I need a DWI attorney - I’m already out of Brownsville jail?
It’s not unusual to be released shortly after a DWI arrest. However, the charges are not going to go away. Plus, Texas law states that fifteen days after your DWI arrest, your driver’s license will be suspended automatically! You may be able to avoid this automatic suspension or obtain a conditional license if you and your attorney act promptly. You are entitled to a hearing to challenge the license revocation within fifteen days of your arrest for DWI. This is but one reason to retain a DUI lawyer.

How long will a DWI conviction remain on my record?
Because DWI convictions are either misdemeanors or felonies, they will stay on your record forever. Obviously, most people do not want a criminal record as this can cause a host of potential problems including difficulties in getting hired for a job. Experienced DWI attorneys have been successful in having cases dismissed or reduced to traffic violations in Brownsville and other Texas courts. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Will a DWI conviction affect my insurance rates?
Yes. Expect your insurance rates to skyrocket after a DWI conviction! Insurance companies insure drivers based on risk and drunk drivers are severely penalized. Your insurance company may even cancel your coverage.

Can you get my DWI case dismissed?
All DWI cases are different and there’s no guarantee that your case will be dismissed when you hire a DWI attorney. However, a good attorney understands Texas DWI laws and employs a variety of legal strategies to help clients. If you live in Brownsville, San Benito, Harlingen, South Padre Island, or any Cameron County community, you may be able to have your case dismissed or reduced through expert legal representation. Don’t face the charges alone. Retain the services of an experienced DWI lawyer and improve your chances.